Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | November 16, 2009

Welcome to New Jersey

Soon after marrying Mark, he dragged me to Wisconsin, where I had no job, no friends and the (winter) weather was…less than ideal. While Madison was a culturally-hip place (at least for Wisconsin), we still felt like fish-out-of-water. This is a place where the local newspaper highlights the start of hunting season, celebrates kids who kill 13 point bucks, and yet sends a photographer to shoot our Yom Kipper break-fast, with large photo running on page 2.

So I wrote “Letters from Wisconsin,” typing out my thoughts on living in this foreign land, and sending it out (snail mail) to friends and family.

Well now Mark dragged me off to New Jersey. While we feel less like foreigners here, there’s still some culture shock. We had to hire our own trash company (from 20 on the approved city list). The lawn service people are actually Caucasian. There are more Italian restaurants than anything else. And there’s the driving. Which will get its own blog post soon. But a preview: many freeway exits are on the LEFT, and many exit signs don’t appear until AFTER you pass them. Even our GPS sometimes gives up, saying “I don’t know where the hell you are or what turn you should have taken.”

So welcome to Letters from New Jersey. Enjoy the ride.

P.S. To avoid missing any posts, please subscribe to get them via email.


Responses

  1. I really thought that people were exaggerating when they described the road signage in NJ. Then we lived there for a few months, and after getting lost more times than I can remember, I decided that the state motto must be “If you don’t know how to get there, you don’t DESERVE to get there.”

  2. Debbie, since I live in NYC but work in Madison, NJ (although not for too much longer), I suppose my blog would be “Memos from NJ” or something else corporate-like. Welcome to the Northeast!


Leave a Reply

Categories

