Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | November 18, 2009

Shari Baby

In college I had a friend named Shari, who was  from New York.  The problem with Shari is that I could never pronounce her name correctly. I would say “Sherry” and in reality it was somewhere between “Shaw-ree” and “Shahhhhh ree.”

It works if you have a New York or New Jersey accent. Which I don’t have, and I don’t plan to get.

In California I had a friend named Shari. She was also from New York. I called her Sherry. She never seemed to mind. She was my only Shari friend in California.

In only a few short months in New Jersey, I’ve met MANY women of a certain age (i.e. my age) named Shari (and they’re all brunettes with long, curly hair). They all hail from New York and New Jersey.  And I still can’t pronounce their names. So I risk either insulting them by calling them Sherry, or sound like an ass by trying my best NJ/NY accent.

My solution? If your name is Shari, we just can’t be friends. Sorry!


Leave a Reply

Categories

