Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | February 2, 2010

Facts about NJ

I’m doing some research on the Garden State for an article proposal. Of course I’m finding all kinds of interesting facts that won’t make it into the query, but that I’ll share with you. Aren’t you lucky?

-New Jersey is the most densely populated state in the country

-During WWI and WWII, all the U.S. naval battleships, cruisers and destroyers were made here

-the first Miss America pagent was held here, in 1921.

-the Hindenburg crashed here!

-the state had no income tax before 1976

-we’re the second or third wealthiest state (well, not the government, but the residents’ median household income)

-New Jersey is home to more engineers and scientists per square mile than anywhere in the world

-New Jersey has the second highest Jewish and Muslim population in the country (first is NY and Michigan respectively)

-nuclear power provides more than half our electricity

-New Jersey and Oregon are the only states that don’t let you pump your own gas.

-only 4 New Jersey cities have populations over 100,000 (the highest is Newark, at less than 300,000)

-NJ students have  the highest average AP testing scores in the country

-NJ has more diners than any other state (600+)

-the state animal is the horse

-we have a state dinosaur!

-the state sloagan: Come See For Yourself

Did I mention we have a guest room?


Responses

  1. I love the part about not being able to pump one’s own gas. I spent my first years as a driver in the Garden State. When I moved out to California, I was completely clueless as to how to get gas into my tank, I had to ask several gas attendents: first, if I wouldn’t get arrested, and secondly, how to actually pump gas. Very embarassing indeed!

  2. I love fun facts. Now I am curious about that state dinosaur.

  3. Stacy – my college roommates were from NJ and they were so impressed watching me not only pump gas, but check my oil when they came to visit me over spring break one year!

    Lydie – the state dino is the Hadrosaurus foulkii. It’s the duck-billed dino. California doesn’t have one. Here’s a list of states – and their dinos (if applicable): http://www.netstate.com/states/tables/state_dinosaurs.htm


Leave a Reply

Categories

