Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | February 9, 2010

Snow Day Rituals

While our predicted snowstorm this weekend didn’t turn out to be much on our end of the state (2 inches for us, and none for other northern NJ towns) – the snowstorm starting tonight is supposed to bring 12-18 inches.

The superstitions are coming out of the closet now that we might have a snowday – as in a day off of school. Coming from California, I had never heard of these snow rituals – like putting a spoon under your pillow and wearing your pajamas inside out. I thought maybe this was a NJ thing, but a quick Google search indicated that it spans the country. According to WikiAnswers, the spoon ritual dates back to Pilgrim time.

I plan to wear my pajamas the normal way – in hopes that I get a day at home to work – and so that the washing machine repair guy can make it to our house so we can do laundry. We ended up at the laundromat yesterday in fear of dirty underwear.

What are your snowday rituals?


Responses

  1. Never heard of these wacky rituals, and I grew up in the Philadelphia suburbs. But I will say that my sister and I listened with baited breath to KYW for the announcer to call “455” — so we knew that Delaware County schools were closed for the day.

    Bundle up, Kaplans!

  2. It’s looking like I’m getting a snow day from work as well. I’ll be drinking heavily, playing Wii with the children, and bothering my wife as her “office” will still be open. Snow shoveling…maybe.

  3. More rituals: go to sleep wearing gloves on your feet and socks on your hands. And underwear on your head (hopefully clean). Leave a penny – Lincoln side up – on the window sill. Flush an ice cube down the toilet. Pajamas should not only be inside out, but backward. Apparently just the thought of all these worked – school has been cancelled with nary a snowflake in sight.

  4. Gotta say, I’ve never heard of any of these! Perhaps we in Buffalo realized that there would be plenty of snow days, no matter what we did!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

