Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | March 26, 2010

The Addams Family and Me

When I went to Penn, I knew I had a connection with Charles Addams, the cartoonist who drew the Addams Family cartoons. He went there too – 1930-31, and modeled the family’s mansion after College Hall (photo below). Now there’s a fine arts building named after him (though it wasn’t there while I was a student).

But that’s not all we have in common. I just found out that Charles Addams grew up in Westfield, and graduated from our local Westfield High School.

There’s a new Broadway musical opening, the Addams Family, which I featured in my New York City with Kids story (you all read that fine story, right?). If anyone could get me review tickets, I’d be much obliged. the PR guy isn’t returning my emails.


Responses

  1. I can’t help with the tickets, but have you passed his childhood home yet? 522 Elm Street. I keep fearing I’ll get busted outside with my camera–I have a post in the works about him, too!

    Love that he grew up here.

  2. Gail – ooh – I’ll have to check out his childhood home! Thanks for the address. Looking forward to your post. You saw the piece in the Suburban News about the ADDAMS art project in the works?

  3. Loved the article.

  4. I didn’t. Thanks for the tip! We used to get the Suburban News, then it mysteriously stopped coming to our neighborhood.

    Don’t you think Westfield would’ve provided him so much inspiration, by the way? This happy little town, just ripe for some morbid humor!


Leave a Reply

Categories

