Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | July 5, 2010

Fireflies

My memories of fireflies are limited to Disneyland’s Pirates of the Caribbean ride. Even now when I see them, I imagine the cannons going off around me and diners munching at the Blue Bayou restaurant. Oh, ho ho ho, a pirate’s life for me!

We did have a few fireflies in Wisconsin, but given that we were busy runing from mosquitoes during the short firefly season, my memories are slight.

Fireflies start lighting up here in June and stay through July. I think it’s a childhood memory every kid should have (Pirates of the Caribbean counts, by the way).

Dori found a good firefly jar (thanks, Utz Pretzels from Costco). She learned that even with holes in the lid, she shouldn’t leave the fireflies in there overnight or they’ll end up dead.

Here are Dori and two neighbors catching fireflies. Unfortunately I couldn’t get any picftures of them magically lighting up in the yard.


Responses

  1. If you eat a firefly, your mouth lights up. I know because my little brother Vin ate one as a toddler when all the “big kids” were catching them and putting them in a jar–he just reached in and popped it in his mouth!
    It never occurred to me that some kids don’t get to experience fireflies–thanks for the post! Now I’ll even greater treasure lightning-bug hunts this summer!

  2. Welcome to the east coast. I was just browsing for lightning bug posts and came across your page. Over here in PA, we managed to get some night pics of the fireflies: http://littlecrumcreek.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

