Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | August 9, 2010

How does your garden grow?

I know you’ve all been wondering what’s going on with my garden. You’re all asking about it – well at least Anna is (thanks Anna!).

It turns out I’m finally getting some vegetables. The yield so far: 6 green beans and a green tomato. Don’t all ask to be invited over for dinner, now.

I should start a CSA

My tomato plant is now taller than Mark. So much for not getting enough sun in that location. It’s finally sprouting 4 green tomatoes (plus the one that fell off above). It’s so heavy it fell over and I had to stake it in and tie up the branches.

the 6 foot tomato plant

I’m about ready to harvest the two tomatoes from the hanging plant. Given the cost of the seedling and hanging planter, those tomatoes cost $15 combined.  Not including water and labor.

These tomatoes cost $15

 The squash plants are still growing green and big, but nothing pollinated yet.

Where for art thou squash?

And the highlight of the week: my first bell pepper (with 2 smaller ones not far behind).

this plant will totally fall over when the pepper gets a little bigger.

I thought my hanging strawberry plant was doing really well – with its stalk getting really big, until my friend Carmel informed me that the plant was actually a weed. I take that as proof I can grow things.

No strawberries from this plant

And in case you want to see one of my other green tomatoes (come on, you know you do)…

Maybe someday I'll turn yellow, like I'm supposed to.


Leave a Reply

Categories

