Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | April 24, 2011

The mind of a 7 year old

In second grade, the kids write a letter home every Friday talking about what they did in school. This week it was Zack’s random thoughts. I’ve transliterated it, but feel free to skip the typing and just read his letter for yourself.

Dear somebody: Here’s a list of things I want to learn but haven’t: karaty, algbra, multipling fractions, speed reading, intrusting facts about animals, how to build a paper boat, orgamy (origami), car energetics, how to make your own website, how to be a famous archerist (archery), how to help jappan, how to get a job at an early age, all the uppercase cursive letters, why we have to sing the four questions, why the youngest has to sing the four questions and not the oldest, why adualts interrup each other so much, why Jason has so many jersies, why “new super Mario bros.” is called “new super Mario bros” if there is no “old super Mario bros”, who invented words, and what 160 x 1,000,0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 is.

I know I didn’t learn any of that stuff. One thing I did learn are the desmles (decimals) in between the dollars and cents. I didn’t learn it because I already knew it. I did fun adition like 4+18+25+16+19+1+7=90. I learned a lot of intrusting facts about china. Love, Zack


Responses

  1. Your kid is absolutely awesome! His curriculum ideas sound a lot more interesting than the typical 2nd-grade fare. 😉

  2. I think this is a fabulous letter. What great questions Zack has!!!

  3. What an incredible mind – I love his ideas!

  4. This is absolutely priceless! Thanks for sharing.

  5. If I were your son’s teacher, I’d be very scared! He has put her on notice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

