Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | October 3, 2011

This is why my daughter hates me

Social dancing. White gloves. Manners. And dancing with BOYS. This is why my daughter hates me. She’s been mad since I sent in the registration form this summer, and now she has to go. It’s held at one of the local tennis clubs. (Who knew our town had THREE of them?) We showed up at the wrong one (as did four families before us), with Dori sneering at me, gloves wadded up in a ball. Never mind that both Mark and I attended similar classes (and I do still shudder at the thought of Junior Assembly, where there were always too many girls and I’d have to sit out when I wasn’t chosen for a dance.

tennis and formal dancing

As we walked into the building, we saw all these kids dressed up like little adults. Very cute. Poor Dori was new to the group – most of the others had already learned the box step, fox trot and waltz  for at least a year. They had to line up in “couples” and wait to shake hands with the adults, saying “good afternoon, Mrs. So and So.” Dori had her arms crossed most of the time.

"I'm NOT having fun"

Dori gets a quicky private lesson - which she didn't want.

Dori doesn't want her picture taken

I wasn’t going to take a picture, until I saw how blog-worthy this was. Unfortunately I missed the shot of Dori moving her hand across her neck as she glared at me, as if to say “cut it out!” After she hid her face. Zack got a good laugh: “Dori’s dancing with a BOY!” until I reminded him that he’ll be signed up next year.

We left Dori while we went to the library, and when we came back at the end, the grey hair suit guy said their last dance would be rock and roll. The guy at the keyboard was finished, and on came the recording. “What is this group, Peas and Asparagus?” he asked.

I wasn’t sure if he was joking. It was the Black Eyed Peas. He showed them how all dancing was alike in that you had to find the beat. He led them in clapping, and then had them pump them arms in front of them, “make a grimace!” followed by some twisting, and then “comb your hair on one side, then the other.” Dori cracked a smile. Ah. The moment I was waiting for. They should have started with this! Break the ice.

The kids got to line up for candy at the end. As Dori showed me her “full size Airheads,” she said “it wasn’t THAT bad.”

Phew.


Responses

  1. Poor Dori! The photos say it all!

  2. Thanks for the idea. I need my kids to start gating me. Lol Seriously ..this must be an east coast this but I will let you know.

  3. […] Westfield Patch shows some photos of damage, including the tennis court fence blown back (this is where the kids take their social dance class – damage is minor). More photos of Seaside Heights damage – this is the town captured in the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

