Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | May 10, 2012

The Engagement

I’d like you to join me in wishing this happy couple a wonderful marriage. And for allowing me a moment of levity in my day. This wedding announcement was just about the most pretentious thing I’ve read in awhile.

I wish Mark thought to propose to me by the “Fountain in Central Park,” serenaded by a passerby (homeless man or unemployed actor? An extra from Enchanted?) singing “Imagine” by John Lennon. Perhaps they could have gotten engaged in Strawberry Fields, the official site of the  Imagine living memorial in Central Park. I wish Mark had read a hand-written poem, declaring his love and proposing on one knee. But Mark’s idea of a poem starts with “I know a man from Nantucket…” Ah well, next marriage.

I was so glad to learn that the beautiful bride is the reigning Ms. North America Globe, a contest won by virtual votes, which cost $10 each. This is a contest where the Power of Beauty Changes the World. Take that, Mr. Trump! In addition to her duties as the reigning Ms. North America Globe, she is an actress and model (you must check out her modeling shots) and is “well versed in community service, specializing in the charitable works of dyslexic awareness, healing abused women and thyroid cancer survivors.”

Her fiance, equally talented, is a “profound landscape architect.” I’m not sure what that means, but there are a ton of David Schmidt Landscape Architects online. Go figure. And in addition to his “many talents” he’s working on a children’s book series with some “very charming characters.” I look forward to reading those books!

Their love for each other melts my heart. “The couple cherishes being part of each other’s careers and common interests; they prefer to be together 24/7. They believe in the strength of their love, honesty and commitment.” And they’re shacking up together!!


Responses

  1. Thanks for that Deb!! That’s hysterical. Are those people for real??

  2. So, lucky you they are your neighbors! You could stalk them and find out if they are really together 24/7…

  3. “But Mark’s idea of a poem starts with “I know a man from Nantucket…” ” LOL! One of my favorites too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

