Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | May 14, 2012

The Garden – Season 3

Yes, in spite of Mark’s horror, I planted a vegetable/herb garden for the third year. In spite of my previous failures and tribulations. In spite of the spot not being too sunny. What is they say about insanity? Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Well, this year I’m trying something different thanks to my friend my Michelle:  square foot gardening. Use a differing soil mixture (1/3 peat moss, 1/3 vermiculite, 1/3 compost). Physically divide the plot into one foot segments, and one plant per plot. Once you pick/harvest a square, plant something else there.

So, I made 40 squares (and haven’t quite filled them). Some seeds (no, I didn’t plant them indoors like I used to – just couldn’t get it together during the kitchen renovation), some purchased plants. Hopefully we’ll avoid the slugs this year (I purchased compost instead of using our own). And no hanging tomato plant this year.

the tomato plants


Responses

  1. Third time is the charm, right? I bet you will have wonderful results this year!

  2. Go Debbie! I hope the system works for you!! I can’t wait to see (taste?) the results!!

  3. You need a link to Garden 1 and Garden 2 blogs so I can get a good chuckle and feel slightly adequate with my pathetic garden…

  4. Looks like Hollywood Squares! Hopefully the prize will be a great harvest!

  5. Good luck with that! I have not graduated to veggies and herbs yet. I am still battling the impatien-eating bunnies!

  6. […] saw the square foot garden that I planted on Mother’s Day. I’ve spent very little time on it since then, because it’s been raining here. A lot. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

