Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | August 22, 2012

Kale – this is for you, hubby

I’ve been complaining about the kale in our CSA box all summer. Kale chips suck, as does stir-fried kale. Finally I tried it in this soup recipe on Friday night, serving Dori and two friends. They ate it! I ate it! It was delicious. (Guess what’s for dinner tonight, Mark – leftover kale soup!). Dori said “I even liked the lettuce in the soup.” She was horrified to find out it was kale, but considering she went for seconds on the soup and ate all the green stuff, I think we’re okay.

Kale soup

Kale, Turkey and Bean Soup

-8 garlic cloves, minced

-2 chopped yellow onions

-1 head of kale, chopped and stems removed

-4 cups broth (we used chicken)

-2 cans (15 oz) cannelli beans undrained (oops – I drained mine)

-tomatoes – approximately 4 small to medium

-2 tsp dried Italian herb seasoning (or anything you can find in your cabinet)

-salt/pepper to taste

-parsley (recipe calls for 1 cup chopped, I threw in some dried parsley instead)

-1 pound of ground turkey

Saute the onions and turkey, add the garlic. Use oil to do so. Add the kale, saute until wilted. Add the broth, beans, tomatoes, herbs. Simmer. If you want a thicker broth, puree some of the beans and broth before adding it in. I’m too lazy to wash more dishes, so I didn’t do that. Add salt/pepper to taste. Simmer 15 minutes. Eat.


Responses

  1. This is like my Escarole and bean soup! Instead of turkey, I put little meatballs. They cook while the soup simmers.

  2. I am totally making this for dinner tonight!

  3. I made your kale, bean and turkey soup and it was delicious! (I copied Cheryl and made meatballs with the turkey). Thanks for sharing your recipe. 🙂

    • Yay! You’re the third person who made it this week and I’ve so far gotten 2 great reviews (the third I haven’t heard yet). I’m glad to spread a good recipe on what to do with, cough cough, kale.


Leave a Reply

Categories

