Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | February 7, 2013

Bye Bye Jughandle?

You may recall a picture I posted awhile back:

Welcome to New Jersey!

Welcome to New Jersey!

We may not have any new jughandles like this if state Senator James Holzapfel has his way. His transportation committee introduced a bill that would “prohibit the planning, designing or construction of any additional jughandles on the public roads or highways in the state.” HOORAY! He has my vote.

Because those of you who haven't lived or driven in New Jersey have no idea what I'm talking about.

Because those of you who haven’t lived or driven in New Jersey have no idea what I’m talking about. You don’t make a left or U turn from the left lane. You make it from the right lane, either before or after the intersection that you want to turn at.

 

About jughandles, the NJ representative of the National Motorists Association said “They may be seemingly unique to New Jersey. But they seem to work most of the time.”

My favorite comment from the newspaper pieces was Holzapel’s: “If I had a dollar for every time I saw someone come up to an intersection that has (out of state plates)…they still stop at that major intersection and try and make a left without even going into the jughandle – because they don’t know what it is.” 

 


Responses

  1. It does seem counterintuitive to signal right when I want to turn left!

  2. I hate jug handles. Good riddance, I hope!


Leave a Reply

Categories

