Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | August 7, 2014

The Garden 2014

In addition to wondering if my kids are having fun at camp, I bet you’re concerned with how my garden grows this summer. I’ve taken a very lax approach to it this year, planting after Mother’s Day, and not really tending to it. Because tending to it doesn’t seem to help me much. We’ve had enough rain that I really haven’t watered.

So what have I grown? I planted 5 tomato plants in a sunny spot. The same position in my yard as my neighbor Albert down the street. He’s Italian, and he just throws some seeds in the ground and then spends the summer at the shore. He gets a bumper crop of tomatoes every year.

DSCN7055

My cherry tomatoes. Grew like a weed. Some animal ate these.

Me? Two of the five plants died almost immediately. One produced nothing. I got 2 delicious cherry tomatoes, and a (small) handful that some animal ate before I had a chance to pick them. Now they have netting over them. The cherry tomato plant grew like a weed (I had to check twice to make sure it wasn’t), and then once the first (small) crop was gone, we’ve only gotten two more growing. And the plum tomato plant you’ll see further down. 

DSCN7059

Some animal ate this lettuce (yes, that’s what it is) before it had a chance to grow much more than this.

I planted this cute little lettuce cup, albeit late because I should have done seedlings earlier in the season, and grown that indoors. But the cup was only $1, so figured I’d try. The lettuce hasn’t grown beyond this stage. And yes, I’m supposed to leave the cup there.

This didn't taste very good.

This didn’t taste very good.

My strawberry plant that I planted four years ago spread. That’s good news, except the strawberries are STILL bitter. I tried one. Yuck.

Some bug got into the pepper and it rotted before it got too much bigger.

Some bug got into the pepper and it rotted before it got too much bigger.

My eggplant plant died, and the pepper plant produced one pepper (above). It grew a little bigger than this then rotted from the top. It’s a yellow pepper. Can’t you tell? 

I did get three totally red plum tomatoes from this plant. Waiting for one more. We're eating them for dinner. No more tomatoes growing on this plant.

I did get three totally red plum tomatoes from this plant. Waiting for one more. We’re eating them for dinner. No more tomatoes growing on this plant.

Happily the plum tomato plant did produce 4 tomatoes, 3 of which we’re eating tonight with some fresh mozzarella and flavored balsamic vinegar. And with some basil from a pot I purchased. The basil is now looking sparse and sun burned, so we better finish it off.

My garden

My garden

I think I’m going to take a new philosophy on my summer garden. I’m just going to attempt to grow garden greens – nothing EDIBLE. My lush garden here does have mint I use for cooking and cocktails (the plant spread from last year). The oregano did come back from last summer as well. I planted cucumbers and I can’t recall what else, mainly because no vegetables are growing. But the lovely (cucumber?) vine is spreading up my wall toward the office, and it has pretty yellow flowers. But no vegetables. 

Or maybe I’ll plant flowers in there next year. My container flowers are doing quite well. I haven’t had to replant them at all, aside from repotting the initial group after a squirrel dug a bunch up before the Bat Mitzvah weekend.

IMG_5245 IMG_5246

IMG_5248


Leave a Reply

Categories

