Posted by: Debbie Abrams Kaplan | July 19, 2015

Rugged Maniac – the official photos

Rugged Maniac posted their official photos from last week’s race (read about the Rugged Maniac race here). We were excited to see how tough we looked in them. I wasn’t sure there would be any of me since I didn’t see the photographers in position when I went through. Turns out there were a few. I saw Mark’s first. Given that he was ahead of me, it was nice to see him looking tough and competitive. That’s my man, and he can FLY (by the way, his shirt was initially white)!

Mark jumping over the fire

Mark jumping over the fire – look at that heat!

I figured I would look like this woman:

Okay, so I fell into the muddy pond the second I tried to switch rings, but still...

This is not me. Okay, so I fell into the muddy pond the second I tried to switch rings, but still…couldn’t I look like her?

So when I saw a photo of me in the balance beam/punching bag area, I was a little disappointed that not only wasn’t I running (couldn’t they alter the photo?) but I look horrified.

Wait, we're supposed to run across this? I'm at the end. Should I walk off? I feel scared!

Wait, we’re supposed to run across this? I’m at the end. Should I walk off? I feel scared! Look how wide this balance beam is! (What’s not shown is that it’s shaking, but still…)

Not looking too attractive or tough coming down the final slide either.

Whee!!!

Whee!!! This photo will not be on the holiday card.

Thought this one is pretty funny.

Whee! Part 2

Whee! Part 2

I did have fun looking at the rest of the photos – there must have been thousands – seriously! I’ll share some of my favorites of people we don’t know.

I didn't look any better than this guy on the Frog Jump.

I didn’t look any better than this guy on the Frog Jump. And this is where I got the majority of the nasty bruises on my legs.

This guy is an idiot.

This guy is an idiot.

I'm glad this wasn't me.

I’m glad this wasn’t me.

Note to women: don't wear orange if you have big boobs.

Note to women: don’t wear orange if you have big boobs.

Ah, mud!

Ah, mud!

I like a guy with a sense of humor.

I like a guy with a sense of humor. And look at those thighs!

Not sure what's going on here, but women should make sure to wear a sports bra that provides coverage.

Not sure what’s going on here.

Notice this guy isn't muddy. He cheated and joined in at the end. No number either.

Notice this guy isn’t muddy, which he would be if he ran the race. He cheated and joined in at the end. No number either.

Not a great idea to slide down together.

Not a great idea to slide down together.

They're having fun.

They’re having fun.


Responses

  1. See…white men CAN jump

  2. This post is hilarious Debbie. But you should get a do-over. You deserve AWESOME pictures after what you did!


Leave a Reply

Categories

